Telluride Foundation: Nominations Open for 2014 Outstanding Citizen

Telluride Foundation: Nominations Open for 2014 Outstanding Citizen

Telluride Foundation’s Annual Award Recognizes Exceptional Community Members

Who makes our community great? Who are those unsung heroes? The Telluride Foundation created the Outstanding Citizen award to honor individuals who unselfishly make extraordinary contributions to the community. Nominations are now being solicited from the entire regional community for the 2014 award. This year, there will be a video testimonial about the finalists to help tell the story to the selection committee. The recipient will be announced in July.

Dean Rolley, Telluride Foundation’s 2013 Citizen of the Year

Dean Rolley, Telluride Foundation’s 2013 Citizen of the Year

“The Outstanding Citizen Award is a celebration of people and their impact on our community.  In order to personalize the nominations, again this year we will create  short videos of the people submitting nominations as they speak about their nominee and their personal contributions to the community,” said Telluride Foundation President and CEO, Paul Major, “We are proud of everyone nominated and want to share the passion the residents have for our community. The video clips will be used by the selection committee to enliven the nominee and bring to life their community contributions.”

The Telluride Foundation’s Citizen of the Year award is in recognition of someone who has unselfishly contributed to the Telluride regional community’s quality of life. The regional community is defined as San Miguel, Ouray, and West Montrose counties as well as Rico). The recipient will receive a commemorative plaque and a grant of $5,000 to be given in their name to the local non-profit of their choice. The 2014 Outstanding Citizen will share the honor with Terry Tice (2003), Lissa Margetts (2004), John Micetic (2005), Bill Carstens (2006), John Pryor and Jane Hickcox (2007), Kathy Green (2008), Marilyn Branch (2009), Dan and Greer Garner and Andrea Benda (2010), Billy “Senior” Mahoney (2011), Ann Brady (2012), and Dean Rolley (2013).

The Foundation is soliciting nominations for the Outstanding Citizen of the Year from the general public. The nomination form is posted on the Telluride Foundation’s website at (under the Foundation tab). Nominations are due by 5pm on June 3. Nominators will be contacted by the Telluride Foundation to create short video nominations with a videographer to show to the Board of Directors at the bi-annual meeting in July. The 2014 recipient will be announced after the Telluride Foundation’s summer board meeting.

Please contact Katie Singer at 970-728-8717 or e-mail to with any questions.

About the Telluride Foundation:

The Telluride Foundation exists to create a stronger Telluride community through grant making, technical assistance and proactive initiatives.  It is a nonprofit, apolitical community foundation that provides year-round support for local organizations involved in arts, early childhood development, education, athletics, charitable causes, land conservation and other community-wide efforts through technical assistance, education and grant making.  The Foundation makes grant awards to qualified organizations and runs program initiatives to enhance the quality of life for people living and working in the Telluride region.  For more information on the Telluride Foundation, visit


No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.