Telluride TV: Annual Awards

Telluride TV: Annual Awards

2013_telluride_tv_video_awards_poster copy copyCreated in 1986, the mission of Telluride TV, originally TCTV12, remains, in a nutshell, to provide a voice for the community through media arts education, community based content, and access to broadcasting.

Under the leadership of executive director Katie Karow, Telluride TV is growing quickly, and is on its way to becoming the hippest, funkiest media source in the community. The non-profit, non-commercial, locally managed and operated, television station has just moved into its new home with twice the square footage of its previous location, in the Telluride High School. And the station is in the process of raising funds to transform a high school classroom into a full-fledged Community Media Center. When complete, the space will be equipped with a live television set, video editing stations, and cameras and equipment for students and adults in the community.

On Saturday, September 28, 2013  Telluride TV hosts its Second Annual Video Awards competition. The live-streamed, red carpet happening takes place at the Sheridan Opera House starting at 6:45 p.m. The main event and film viewing begins at 8:15 p.m. An after-party follows. Telluride TV’s awards night is a locals’ version of the Oscars, so dress Telluride black tie affair (which means anything goes).

To compete for the prize, local film makers entered short videos. Judges Jeff Price, Suzan Baraza, Sophie Price, and Sean Deland chose the category winners: Best Outdoor/Nature film, Best Promotional Video, Most Original, and Best Student films. A Viewers Choice category was posted online and filmmakers were encouraged to send the link to friends and family to vote via social media. Viewers Choice will also be decided by votes the audience casts on award night.

Click the link to watch a video of last years red carpet:


Tickets are $20 for adults and $10 for students age 12-18 years.

To watch this year’s film submissions and purchase your tickets online, go to



No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.