Telluride Film Festival: Tributees, Cardinale, Firth and Weir

Telluride Film Festival: Tributees, Cardinale, Firth and Weir

[click “Play”, Gary Meyer reveals the 2010 Tributees]

Every year, since the event got off the ground in 1974, the Telluride Film Festival, known locally as The SHOW, has paid tribute to artists whose contributions resonate throughout the medium.

Thirty-seven years ago, the first tributees were Gloria Swanson, Francis Ford Coppola, and Leni Riefenstahl.

The list of Telluride Film Festival honored actors swelled over the years to include Jack Nicholson, Gerard Depardieu, Clint Eastwood, Isabelle Huppert, Jodie Foster, Klaus Kinski, Shirley MacLaine, Toni Collette, Daniel Day Lewis, and part-time local (she met her husband Marc Schauer, her V.I.P host, when she was honored in 2004), Laura Linney.

Directors who have been Film Festival tributees include Werner Herzog, Chuck Jones, Robert Altman, Pedro Almodovar, Ken Burns and Neil Jordan.

Festival co-director Gary Meyer observed a pattern in the way Telluride Film Festival tributees have generally been selected: someone quite well known, a great artist whose work is not so well known in America, and someone who has operated quietly but very effectively behind the scenes. Does the pattern hold up this year? Answer: no. The Telluride Film Festival is fond of breaking the rules. Even its own.

Tributees for the 2010 Show? The envelope please.

Click the “play” button and listen to Gary Meyer talk about this year’s honored trio.

For ongoing coverage of 2010 Telluride Film Festival, see Catalog of 2010 Stories.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.