SMRC's Chocolate Lovers Fling: Chefs All Winners

For people adrift at sea in their relationships, the San Miguel Resource Center is a life raft. And it was all hands on deck Saturday night, February 6, at the Telluride Conference Center in the Mountain Village for the 15th annual Chocolate Lovers’ Fling, the nonprofit’s only major public fundraiser.

The theme of 2010 Fling: “The Love Boat.” The rationale: a mass rescue for victims of interpersonal violence. The payoff for months of hard work by the Resource Center’s staff and the dedicated Fling committee: a sea of people surrounding an island of chocolate, representing a show of hands from locals and guests and most of all from the professional chefs, who generously offer their talent and time to the cause.

Participating chefs, all winners in the opinion of Telluride Inside… and Out:

Eliza Gavin, 221 South Oak Bistro, Isaac’s Chocolate Moustaches
Eamonn O’Hara, Argentine Grille, Seriously Decadent Chocolate Cake
Johnny Gerona, Bread & Roses Catering, Caribbean Cruise Rum & Orange Truffles
Angela Heuman, Cosmopolitan, Chocolate Hazelnut Cream Cake
Robbie O’Dell, Fat Alley, Drunken Sailors
Roscoe Kane, The Floradora Saloon, Pirate Booti
Erick Mosher, Highline Bakery, Funky Fudge
Malik Hammond, Hotel Telluride Bistro, Chocolate Pinion Bread Pudding
Cory Muro, Honga’s Lotus Petal, Princess Cut Chocolate Chai Ganache w/Passion
Fruit Gelee Life Savers
Lucas Price, La Cocina de Luz, Chocolate Masa Boats w/Fruit Salsa
Jonathan Taylor, La Marmotte, Love Boat Life Preservers
Rhiannon Chandler, Onyx/Suede Bar at Capella, For The Love Of Isaac
Amy Mueller, Ouray Candy Company, S’Mores
Josh Galloway, Silverton Chocolates, Persian Purple Passion Bon Bons
Sergio Gonzalez, Telluride Pizza Kitchen & Bistro, Venetian Love
Steve Roth, Andrew Shea, Joe Shea, Telluride Ski & Golf, Love Truffles 

Official award winners (judged by three chocolate experts and supporters: Patty Denny, Telluride Truffle, Colleen Mesa, Telluride Truffle, and Amie Hargrave, pastry chef):

Creme de la Creme: Rhiannon Chandler of Onyx/Suede Bar
Chef’s Choice: Rhiannon Chandler of Onyx/Suede Bar
Most Decadent: Cory Muro of Honga’s Lotus Petal
Most Whimsical:  Steve Roth, Andrew Shea, Joe Shea of Telluride Ski & Golf Company
Yummiest: Angela Heuman of Cosmopolitan
Best Theme Interpretation: Eliza Gavin of 221 South Oak 
Honorable Mention for Best Showpiece: Sergio Gonzalez of TPK Bistro
People’s Choice: Roscoe Kane of The Floradora Saloon.

“As Co-chair of the Chocolate Committee, no one knows better than I how important it is to get as many restaurants and pastry chefs as we can participating in our event,” explained the indefatigable Jill Roisman. “No chocolate, no ‘Fling.’ So I give a big shout out to everyone who stepped up to the plate as it were. We know how much time and effort goes into your incredible creations and we, at the SMRC, are all so deeply grateful. Since the Fling is our one big public shot to raise discretionary funds, we hope you all know how important you are to making our event such a success –  and the fact that your contribution gave some neighbor out there a new lease in life. Bravo all.”

Check out Clint Viebrock’s video, made in your honor.

Comments are closed.